Rediscovering Recipies

I find myself unprepared for the sudden onset of summer.

I’m not sure exactly why.  After all, I knew it was coming, and I had planned on certain things like the heat of summer, kids not ins school, and summer meals.  But I find that I didn’t plan on getting my A/C in the windows in advance (and it’s due to get in the 90’s today). I also haven’t gotten the grill cleaned up properly (and the burner is not burning well again, so it needs replaced).  And yesterday, I realized I’d lost my salsa recipe (which made buying ingredients an educated guess).

This reminds me of one of the myriad problems brought about by my father’s sudden death:  many of the recipes he had perfected were lost.

Now when I say lost, I don’t mean the basic ingredient list and instructions were lost, since it’s shit we kind of know how to make.  But the difference between the base recipe (which can be Googled in a snap) and what he made in the kitchen (which was part tinkering, part instinct, and part magic) is noticeable.  For example, we had enchiladas and pollo poblano for supper on Sunday. The pollo recipe was one of these.  It was definitely good, but there was just a little *whoo* (say it fast and higher pitched and you’ll understand what I’m trying to say) missing.  And with this, there’s a story and a history, and a memory, all of which are kind of lost now.

Now he had a few dozen recipes and processes and interesting bullshit he had ironed out.  And there were a few recipes he perfected from his mother that I’ll need to reconstruct.  After all, it’s not like he really wrote shit down….

Luckily, I blogged about my salsa recipe.  Rather than linking to the old post, here’s the recipe:

2 pounds of tomatoes (whatever’s cheapest, of course)
1 to 1 1/2 cup onion (because I don’t really measure, almost all numbers from here out are guesses)
1 cup peppers (at least three varieties, including bell, a mild or sweet, and a hot)
1 apple, peeled (not a typo, I put an apple in it.)
1 tbsp dried cilantro (although fresh would be better)
1 tbsp lime juice
1tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp cumin
couple pinches of salt

You take all that and food-process it into a fine batch.  Then you let it cook together in its own juices and eat the shit.  That’s it.

And so I’m off to make my first batch this year.

About patrickmspeaks

Father, tech-head, political sage, and the Illustrious One of (little) 3x2 fame, I have been blogging for a few years now, and want to stretch in new directions, discover new things, and redefine redefining just for the fun of it. Nonetheless, having produced a pointless paragraph about me, I'll stop before something bursts.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rediscovering Recipies

  1. The apple is interesting. Does it add a little sweetness?

    • Yep. also counteracts the vinegar and lime juice. My goal was to make a mild, cooling, refreshing, eating salsa rather than the chunky tomato crap that passes for mass-market salsa. Worst case scenario, you spend $5 on a batch and have to throw it.

      And between the time I posted and the time I’m replying, I made my first batch and just realized I forgot to add 2 of the 3 peppers. Crap.

Comments are closed.