Times I Miss the Old Days of Printing Vulgar Stuff Off an Apple ][

Yes, you read that right.  The first computer I ever wrote the earliest of my obscene shit on was that old thing over on the right.  And boy was it a learning experience, since you had to be a geek to sort it all out.  And to even get it to work.  It was a time of disks that were really floppy (those 5 1/4″ bastards).  It was a time where color was a luxury (my screen was GREEN).  And printing involved the moronic drone of the dot matrix.

Being only a couple years older than my children at the time, I saw nothing but kickass possibilities for  the computer.  Maybe not the cool things that would come down the pike courtesy of Steve Jobs, but definitely possibilities.

Tomorrow night, my buddy Lars and I will be rocking another episode of the 3x2cast, using his most excellent Mac to record the audio (although, being the geek I am, I could probably make a hunk of shit running Windows 98 record something).  And I’m probably going to break out the original Toy Story and “make” the kids watch it.

All courtesy of a man who took vision and ran like a motherfucker with it until the day the cancer won.  He will be missed.

 

About patrickmspeaks

Father, tech-head, political sage, and the Illustrious One of (little) 3x2 fame, I have been blogging for a few years now, and want to stretch in new directions, discover new things, and redefine redefining just for the fun of it. Nonetheless, having produced a pointless paragraph about me, I'll stop before something bursts.
This entry was posted in Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Times I Miss the Old Days of Printing Vulgar Stuff Off an Apple ][

  1. BB-Idaho says:

    I was a bit pre-floppy: punch cards and a gear drive printer.
    Beat the hell out of my slide rule, though…..

Comments are closed.