Podcasts, Promos, and Vlogging, Part 2

In my last post I discussed some of the projects I was going to be working on.  The last thing I mentioned was a promo I was going to try to put together over the weekend.

Well, I done did do it. Here’s that masterpiece (of shit). I’ll give you the story after the break:

Refreshing, I know. Now, some backstory:

It was season 3 of the 3x2cast. We were chugging along, coming up with some brilliant promos, some of which may find their way to video. This one was born of the idea of metaphorically throwing shit at a wall and seeing what stuck. This is kind of like marketing, but with fewer drinks, or if you’re from the 80s, less cocaine (I was rewatching Robocop, okay?). naturally, in my own comedic spin, I yelled out “Shit on the waaaaaaaaaaaall!” and an idea was given life.

The idea, as you may have guessed, is that this is a product, and most of the lines are generic shit you could find in any infomercial. So a quick scripting, a cheesy soundtrack, and some quick editing led to the original audio promo:

One note on this. The promo was made while Occupy Wall Street was in its heyday. That’s where the company OWS came from, mainly due to the guy who shat on a cop car (which I included in the video). It’s not necessarily a commentary on the movement as a whole. Sometimes, you just have to go with what works.

The reason I tackled Shit on the Wall first was because I figured it would be the simplest for me to put together, as fellow 3x2vian and hetero lifemate Lars was busy with many other things (like learning how to really make film). I was able to tap him for advice, the voiceover work itself (because we rerecorded everything), and a few AfterEffects shots to make the video look better (the Star Wars SOTW, for example). I dug into the public domain, learned a little more about photoshopping (my freeb editor is Paint.net), lit and shot the video sequences (both Rainbow, the company owner, and the actual flinging of the “shit” at the wall. For that, I found the easiest way to make fake poo was with peanut butter and chocolate syrup. All the pictures featuring any photoshopped shit were taken from stills of peanut butter turds. So yeah, except for the guy crapping on the cop car, there is no actual shit in this video. Unless you count the video itself. Apparently a few people have….

So it took me maybe 12-14 hours of setup, shooting, recording, and editing to bring that little clip to life. Maybe the next one will take less.

Oh who am I kidding? It’ll eat up another weekend. Guess it’s better than vegging out in front of the TV not naked (because it’s still to damn cold).

About patrickmspeaks

Father, tech-head, political sage, and the Illustrious One of (little) 3x2 fame, I have been blogging for a few years now, and want to stretch in new directions, discover new things, and redefine redefining just for the fun of it. Nonetheless, having produced a pointless paragraph about me, I'll stop before something bursts.
This entry was posted in 3x2. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Podcasts, Promos, and Vlogging, Part 2

  1. jerrycritter says:

    LOL!

Comments are closed.