Can 2017 Suck Less?

2016 sucked my “big” fat one. And by big I mean minuscule and childlike in a way that involves using centimeters to get whole numbers. And I was still unsatisfied (as there was no literal sucking in my case).

Actually, a series of bad dick jokes would have been better than 2016, with its combination of celebs dying too young, spurts of ludicrous and stupid violence amplified by the news heads (a reason I mostly don’t watch news anymore), and further disillusionment as the most futile and horrible pair of assholes vied to be the dickbag-in-chief, and one of the bastards won (Don’t Blame Me, I Voted Libertarian).

On a personal level, my creativity is sitting in the shitter, from the usual crushing bullshit, along with a hella-cold that crippled me from before Thanksgiving to almost Christmas (and still keeping my singing voice from working right). I have yet to find a way to get the juices flowing consistently. Most days it’s just maintaining, keeping the daily flow of the family functioning.

So, feeling vaguely inspired by Wil Wheaton doing daily posts in December, I’m going to take up this challenge and post something every day in January.

I remember starting my first blog back in 2007, when I was emerging from the years of hyper-leeching via my godawful ex, the Succubus (who, after 5 months of not giving a shit just decided she misses her kids again or something). I was at a mighty clip, whipping out godawful posts on politics that were mostly rubber-stamp bullshit that I believed because REPUBLICAN PARTY!!! or something. And I just realized that it’s been a damned decade. I was in my 30’s and I was young, and full of…. Which reminds me of something else I haven’t done in a decade.

At least my dick still works?

Yeah, I’m probably going to go there on the more depressing days. Or maybe I’ll talk role-playing, or Red Shirt Geeks (if it survives). Or maybe I’ll try to get some fiction or poetry slapped on the page.  Or maybe I might even get a partial video post done, since I haven’t been editing video in a long while. And of course politics, because that shit never ends or stops sucking. The point is to post every day in January

So goodbye 2016, here’s to hoping 2017 will be better and… aw, fuck me, it’s going to suck isn’t it?

 

About patrickmspeaks

Father, tech-head, political sage, and the Illustrious One of (little) 3x2 fame, I have been blogging for a few years now, and want to stretch in new directions, discover new things, and redefine redefining just for the fun of it. Nonetheless, having produced a pointless paragraph about me, I'll stop before something bursts.
This entry was posted in Rants, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.