Procrastination and My Blog Drafts

One of the reasons I decided to do daily writing was because I was not writing enough, or just writing and burying things.

Now with some things, like the script for The Book of Lucy, that’s a good thing. Because that must be made into a film once I write it, and there’s enough original idea there that I don’t want it out there until I’m ready.But the drafts folder of this WordPress blog should not have shit left there until the end of time. In fact, the only reason there should be drafts is because it’s the current post, saved post, before I can hit publish, or something bigger ‘s due to post. Or maybe a post I’m going to turn into something else, but I have work done, and it’s just temporary

Currently, I have 9. Once includes my dad’s deer stew recipe (thought to be lost since he died, except he wrote it down for someone else), which I thought I published. I may just revisit and post it another day.

The other eight, however, are political posts., on varying subjects. Some, if I look at them, are probably timely. Like the one I wrote in support of Gary Johnson for President. Oops. REALLY no use in keeping that one.

Some of them are undoubtedly incomplete. But they shouldn’t be. I should have kept to the goal of posting them. But I’m a chronic procrastinator.

And while the collapse of many of my projects can be blamed on other things (like being sick on and off for an hour and a half), it’s my tendency to wait until the last fucking second or beyond that often torpedoes whatever brilliance I’m shooting out of my ass.

It certainly led to the collapse of the RSG show Random Bits of Geek (come watch, it’s fun: Series 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5). It wasn’t the only thing, but having to work half the night to hit a deadline because I was always trying to make a deadline accelerated its destruction.

It rests among the many reasons almost nothing has come from RSG since.

And on a personal level, it’s one of the reasons (along with coughing and puking, and shitting, and kids) I’m sitting at lunch, writing this, instead of being at home and cleaning, and putting my Christmas tree away. Seriously. Even my productivity is used to procrastinate. On the plus, writing is also distracting me from eating my lunch too quickly.

So maybe I should fucking stop writing, finish my lunch, and go home to clean. Since the kids are home, I do get the bonus of enslaving them, thus feeding my god complex.

Thankfully, I don’t count the god complex and a failing….

About patrickmspeaks

Father, tech-head, political sage, and the Illustrious One of (little) 3x2 fame, I have been blogging for a few years now, and want to stretch in new directions, discover new things, and redefine redefining just for the fun of it. Nonetheless, having produced a pointless paragraph about me, I'll stop before something bursts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.